Double-click to start typing

Somerset New Year Chess Congress

Click here to edit subtitle


Walton Park Hotel

We have negotiated the following special deals for chess players staying at the hotel: 

Single occupancy bed & breakfast 

Friday & Saturday £60, Sunday £45


Double/Twin occupancy bed & breakfast 

Friday & Saturday £80, Sunday £70

Rates for Dinner Bed & Breakfast may be obtained from the hotel.

Dinner is served from 1930 although bar snacks are available all day

The hotel is a lovely chess venue.

“Walton Park Hotel was originally built in the late 19th century and has been sympathetically restored to become Clevedon’s Premier Hotel.

Guests can wine and dine in the Victorian splendour of the awardwinning Somerset restaurant and enjoy the breathtaking sunsets over the Celtic coastline. The spacious, comfortable and lavishly equipped bedrooms, the majority of which provide magnificent views over the Bristol Channel, are individually designed and furnished to a high standard and all complete with freeview flat screen TV, complimentary beverages and free WiFi.”

How to get to the Congress:

If coming by car, leave the M5 at J20, head for the seafront and turn right. (It’s that simple.) There is ample car parking at the hotel. If coming by train, alight at Yatton. This is about 4 miles away. There is a not particularly frequent bus service from Yatton to Clevedon, but you may wish to use a taxi. The approximate cost is £10.

Congress Report

Cross tables for all sections can be found here

4th Somerset New Year Congress-- Prize Winners 2020


1st- 4.5/5  John Webb

3rd= 4/5  Elmira Walker 

               Matthew Wood

GP U101  Alan Fraser

    3/5        David Lewis


1st- 4.5/5  Stephen Horrell

3rd= 3.5/5  Arthur Hibbitt

                  Rob McClatchey

                  Jorgen H Nielsen

                  Rob Parsons

                  Gary Walker

                  Peter Dimond GP

                  Ken Alexander GP

GP U129 = GP



1st= 3.5/5  Brian Gosling

                  George Miller

                  Paul Spiller

                  Max Walker

GP U160   George Georgiou


3rd Somerset New Year Congress-- Prize Winners 2019


1st=   4.5/5   Gul Kapur


3rd=  4/5      John Jeremiah

                    Jonathan Jones

GP U103=   Joy Fursman

       3/5        James Wallman

                    Andy Wang


1st=   4/5     Stephen Williams

3rd=  3.5/5   Timothy Jones

                     Duncan Macarthur

                     Peter Dimond

                     Rod Langham   GP

                     Josh Gittins       GP

                     Martin Jones     GP

GP U130=    GP


1st=    4/5    Martyn Harris 

3rd=   3.5/5   George Miller

                     George Georgiou

GP U154=  3/5 David Pinch

2nd Somerset New Year Congress-- Prize Winners 2018


1st=   4/5   Jason Madden

                  Graham Mill-Wilson

3rd=  3.5/5  Timothy Allen

                    Roy Ludlow

                    Philip Owen

                    Chris Smith

GP U104=   Keven Lamb  3/5


1st=   4/5     Robert Parsons

                    Stephen Williams

                    Rich Wiltshir

GP U134=     Alan Evans   3/5


1st=    4/5    Chris Timmins

                    Timothy Woodward

3rd=   3.5/5   Andrew Borkowski

                     Martyn Harris

                     Mark Potter

                     Oliver Stubbs

GP U156=    Robert Lanzer    3/5


1st Somerset New Year Congress--Prize Winners 2017


1st= 4/5  Alan Fraser             

               Shaun Walsh      


3rd= 3.5/5  Tim Allen               

                  Douglas Bramley   

                  John Skeen


GP U100- 3.5/5  David Clarke


1st= 4/5  Terry Greenaway

               Thomas McLaren

                Alex Langford

GP U133= 3/5  Richard Dowling

                         Ian Rescorla


1st= 4/5  Peter Kirby

               Chris Timmins

3rd 3.5/5  Alice Lampard

GP U161= 2.5/5  Richard Desmedt

                            Jon Fisher

                            George Georgiou

                            Brendan O'Gorman

                            Paul Spiller

                            Rich wiltshir